UPDATE~The Duhon’s Return to Court Once Again~Required That They Return Again for Doing NOTHING WRONG!!!

Shane and Anne Marie Duhon went again on October 8th, 2014 in front of The honorable Bill Welsh. This is more of the same that has been going on since July 8. Four months of wasted taxpayer money for 5 minutes in front of the judge.

This time the DA Jeff Smith decided he was going to change the wording in the application to revoke their deferred sentence. He added three words AND OTHER ANIMALS to the application to revoke. (This application is what the Duhons have been going back and forth to court for this is the probation violation) Because of the addition of those three words the whole thing has been started over. This visit to Judge Welshes court room was NOT for a hearing like everyone thought, planned for and expected but for a simple arraignment and reading of the charges. Basically back to square one! And in a matter of minutes the case was again continued to Nov.

Ah but this time things were a little different! The Duhon’s attorney was present and all the animal rights activists were not except for two, Caryn Hass Bearden and her middle aged daughter Candys McCulley who lives with Caryn.
Wonder if they knew that nothing was going to happen or had other things to spend their time and gas on?

The biggest point was brought up in their case, Finally. The point that really needs to be stressed. Ms. Duhon’s religion, she is Amish/Mennonite. Yes, the people that ride in buggies pulled by HORSES, live on FARMS, and RAISE ANIMALS to support themselves and their families! Their case is and has never really been about abuse or neglect of animals (there was never any abuse or neglect of animals either in the beginning or now) but about abuse of power and discrimination against someone who chooses a different lifestyle and firmly sticks to their beliefs no matter what the cost.

Anne Marie wrote me this to explain herself and her beliefs to me. She is reading Atlas Shrugged. You will notice the quotes she has used from the book are familiar as I have often used in previous posts -highlighted -I’m including what she wrote in this post as she has expressed this so well and I hope will encourage you to pick up this book and read it.

Hello Barbara,

So what am I doing today? Reading still. Atlas Shrugged is a HUGE book. I ll be reading it for a while. There was an interesting passage I just read. Rearden and Dr. Ferris are talking.
Dr. Ferris says. ” We’ve waited a long time to get something on you. You honest men are such a problem and such a headache. But we knew you’d slip sooner or later-and this is just what we wanted.”
“You seem to be pleased about it.” says Rearden
Dinit I have a good reason to be?’
“But, after all, I did break one of your laws.”
Well, what do you think they’re for?’
:did you really think that we want those laws to be observed?” asked Dr. Ferris. WE WANT them broken. You’d better get straight that it’s not a bunch of boy scouts you’re up against then you’ll know that this is not the age for beautiful gestures. We’re after power and we mean it. You fellows were pikers, but we know the real trick, and you’d better get wise to it. There’s one way to rule innocent men. The only power any government has is the power to crack down on criminals. Well, when there aren’t enough criminals, one makes them. One declares so many things to be a crime that it becomes impossible for men to live without breaking laws. Who wants a nation of law-abiding citizens? What’s there in that for anyone? But just pass the kind of laws that can neither be observed nor enforced nor objectively interpreted-and you create a nation of law-breakers-and then you cash in on guilt. Now that the system, Mr. Rearden, that’s the game and once you understand it  you will be much easier to deal with.”

This book was written in the 50’s. Was the author able to see into the future? This one passage so describes exactly what the world is today that it is scary to say the least.  We, Shane and I, and the many others that we know are in the same boat as us, are prime examples of this one passage. We really didn’t do anything wrong we did no abuse to anything we all did our best within our capabilities and our beliefs to do the right thing but the world has no room any longer for doing the right thing.  The basic commandment in any religion is “Do no harm” yet now it seems the basic commandment is harm anyone as long as it advances YOUR goal, your power. That is not something that I can grasp or do. Now like a child my heart cries “its not fair!” but nobody in power cares what is fair for me or my family as long as THEY advance in THEIR world.  When was it ever right for a stupid law that makes animals more important than human lives? That the protection of animals lives trumps the protection of human lives and the destruction of families? No matter what the laws say that will NEVER be right morally or ethically. It is never right to harm animals but to make up harm so that one can say I am better than you and disregard the damage and destruction that statement creates to human lives on a trumped up LIE? NEVER! What level of depravity has this world sunk to to put animals above us humans? WE run the world not animals. Those that profess to care (snort) so deeply about animals only do so when it suits them. You do not see them allowing roaches to co-habitat with them or other vermin. but aren’t they too animals?  Their love and concern only goes so far as to advance their cause.  When there is no gain for them they drop the pose of loving animals and show their true colors of really loving only themselves.

I am so glad I chose to read this book now. If I had read it as a child I would have NEVER grasped it. NOW it means so much to me.
This describes my life: “” You, who know from your work that one bears punishment only for being wrong- what have you been willing to bear and for reason? All your life, you have heard yourself denounced, not for your faults, but for your greatest virtues. You have been hated, not for your mistakes, but for your achievements, You have been scorned for all these qualities of character which are your highest pride. You have been called selfish for the courage of acting on your own judgement and bearing sole responsibility for your independent mind….. You who’ve kept them all alive, have been called an exploiter. Have you stopped to ask them: by what right? by what code? by what standard? “”

Man oh man does that EVER fit my life.  Short and sweet this evil world HATES good and seeks to destroy it by fair means or foul. I so now understand why Caryn is doing what she is doing to us. I doubt SHE really understands why but now I do.  I did something she could not by my own steam and the grace of GOD.  I made her look bad ,unintentionally I admit, but I did. And she could not let it stand. Not that she or anyone had that right but she THOUGHT she did by virtue of being here first.

“Do you care to purchase- at the price of your great endurance, at the price of your agony- the satisfaction of the needs of your own destroyers?”” NO! A thousand times NO! But that is EXACTLY what we are doing aren’t we. Our pain, suffering and destruction to please those that do it to us. Ah but they can only hurt us if we attach significance to their opinion. That is where they fail. We do not care about their opinion about us, I do not see that I am or was ever wrong so they can not make me feel guilty. I do not respect their judgement so it means nothing to me.  An issue of guilt has to rest on my acceptance of their code of justice that pronounces me guilty. I  do not accept it and never will. I feel no guilt shame, or regret. I have lost respect for them long ago so their judgement does not hurt me unless I let it. And that pisses them off beyond belief! Try as they will they will not destroy me or us. They use my own goodness and sense of right and wrong against me.  Like the book says: “To count upon his virtue and use it as an instrument of torture, to practice blackmail with the victim’s generosity as sole means of extortion, to accept the gift of a man’s good will and turn it into a tool for the givers destruction….. the formula of so monstrous an evil that he was able to name it but not to believe it possible. “

THAT is what the world has become. an unbelievable evil.  Total evil. That is how I so feel. How do I defend myself when I feel as though I have done no wrong? And by going along with it justifies their actions and gives them permission to ill use us as they are.

I so wonder how THAT would sit with the attorney if I broached it to him. Would he even understand? Here is what I understand to be true. On day 6 God created us humans. Where did he place us? In a garden with animals and commanded us to care for it. God made us farmers first and in the act of caring for HIS creation and using it we pay homage to HIM and His creation. Why did I do something that was wrong in the eyes of the court? I did it because I do not see it as wrong. I have no problem obeying just and fair laws. This order was both unjust and unfair. It denied me both the right and the ability to care for myself and while still free made me a prisoner of what the public and world decided to allow me to have not what I could create and do for myself.  No man or court  has the right to order me to chose between a mans law or order and Gods. Why it would be more wrong to make us beggars just because a man ordered it and leave us destitute  than disregard a mans order to do what God made me capable of doing and profit from it. To beg just because a man says so is wrong when we are perfectly capable of caring for our own needs if we disregard that order and follow Gods rules. I was just following my orders is not a justification for becoming a taker when we all know that I am perfectly capable of supporting me and mine. Guilt is the only way that they can beat us. If I feel guilty then I do not fight because I believe I deserve the punishment. But if I do not feel guilty then I will never stop fighting and they can not beat me but I beat them. I have to stand for my standards and my beliefs or I will fall for anything. My conscience is clean. I m not guilty of any crime and nor will I let them TELL me that I am . I can face my Lord calmly knowing I have done what is right in HIS eyes and that is what matters. I have not sinned against anyone it is they who have sinned against me by attempting to forbid me to follow Gods commandments and laws.

We took the plea that we did under duress and because we had no recourse but to do so. What sane person would risk liberty and life on the mercy of those that are anxious to destroy us? WE never had a chance to defend ourselves or speak to our defense.

__________________________

She is right you know.

Now for the real question is will the world ever understand this? Probably not. And in the meanwhile innocent people like the Duhons will fight for the very right to just exist and live their lives according to their beliefs without having to worry about some nameless, faceless ‘THEY’ coming in and destroying all that they have worked, sweated and labored for  in the blink of an eye on the basis of a lie.

Many others will just give up and “follow the rules” because the fight is too painful and too hard. This injustice needs to be drug kicking and screaming into the light. How can it be called Justice when REAL criminals are getting away with everything including murder and the innocent are getting railroaded into prisons for not being able to pay a bill and choosing to follow a greater law, laws above mans laws, to care for and feed their families?

How can this prosecutor take it back to square one anyway?!? Wouldn’t that be double jeopardy?!?  ROTFLOL!!! Oh my, let the feathers be ruffled and the fur fly!!!

To be continued in November

Link of interest: https://topcatsroar.wordpress.com/2014/08/27/update-special-interest-groups-of-animal-rights-extremist-terrorists-want-to-control-the-decision-of-the-court-part-ii/

Disclaimer connected to this blog…Things said are of our opinion and the opinion of others…Stay tuned and follow this blog  -B


~ by topcatsroar on October 20, 2014.

17 Responses to “UPDATE~The Duhon’s Return to Court Once Again~Required That They Return Again for Doing NOTHING WRONG!!!”

  1. I’m reading Atlas Shrugged too, and I am leaving whatever happens up to God and where we are directed to go, and we do what we do in order to take care of our family. The quote regarding accomplishments rings true because quite frankly, I have a lot of accomplishments whereas many of the women that are “into” rescue have finally found their niche where they don’t have to have any experience, expertise, or accomplishments, and as long as they are good liars, that is all it takes in the backwards world of public animal rescue to attack someone they simply don’t like and are jealous of.

    The Duhon’s need to keep up the fight, let their opposition know they will not roll over, and then expose the lies and cheating and egos of those who are stalking them at this point.
    And the ACLU might be interested in their case because this whole witch hunt stinks of attacking their religious beliefs and THAT is a crime committed against them by “the crazy rescue women” and also the DA. The DA will NOT want their name plastered all over the Internet as attacking people regarding their religious beliefs, so a campaign regarding harassment and stalking of the Duhon’s to keep them from practicing their faith may be in order now too.

  2. What a wonderful “true incite” to how this crap bas been working! Thanks, Anne Marie and Top Cat!

  3. Reading Atlas Shrugged does not make you Anne Marie Duhon Amish, nor does it make you Mennonite, likewise it does not make you Amish – Mennonite. Have you ever been part of any Amish – Mennonite group, if so they would know you and support you?

    • Seriously?!? That’s too funny-Are you Amish/Mennonite yourself?!? Or are you someone who has asked around…WAIT, where do you live?!?
      Anne Marie was raised Amish/Mennonite. She is not from Oklahoma-she is one of thousands of people displaced from Hurricane Katrina so how is an entirely new community expected to know her?!? Furthermore after all that has happened and when all was said and done, the Duhons stayed to themselves trying to get by each day from the way they were treated by the community and what they were left with-life as they know it ruined- which was horrible and wrong!!!
      This is a small community mostly consisting of people who have become self reliant and people who live within their means do not usually have the time for much else especially when there are children to care for as well as an animal rescue that they were involved with years ago. Animals are a 24/7 job and the Duhon’s saw that it more was needed in their new community; shorthanded they still took care of the animals as well as their family.
      But this case is for a probation violation and not for animal cruelty.
      The prosecutor can not go back over a settled case; he can only go over the new issues of the violation.
      It was apparent to me and to others that know Anne Marie that due to her religious believes, she was targeted by the prosecutor yet it is her protected constitutional rights to protect them from ‘witch hunts’.
      When I was told from prosecutor’s office, during a phone conversation made out of concern, that ‘those kind of people’ are known as animal abusers; I was more than shocked.
      So apparently they are being targeted and the prosecution has more than enough evidence to believe that they are Amish/Mennonite; whether known to the community or not.
      Sorry you can question it all you like but was obvious to me what’s really gone on and going on with this case!!!
      I hope the Duhon’s file suit against them for this and the misery they have endured all this time.
      There is no excuse for this or reason to have made that comment to me unless it is what the prosecutor really has against them. Happy that they secured their own attorney and hope this is pursued further to end targeting them for their beliefs and way of life.

  4. I am not Amish/Mennonite I am Mennonite and my home in Kansas is in Amish country. I know very well the ways of Amish, Mennonite, and Amish-Mennonite. I was raised in the Mennonite faith. I am so sorry for the depth of anger you have both expressed. It is by Anne Marie’s expressions that it is so clear she has not the heart of her claim to be of Amish/Mennonite origin. It is this claim that I call her on. If she is of any of these groups her repentance would be expressed. Not the blaming or the demanding justice. For as one of the faith she knows that none of us want justice as we have all so many sins. If she is what she claims she would be reading the Bible to seek repentance not Atlas Shrugged to seek excuses for her sin.

    • Like innocent sheep you don’t stand up for yourself WRONG!?! She did nothing wrong…not then and not now…When you get that right then maybe you’ll know the difference…There was never any animal abuse and therefore has no reason to “seek excuses for her sins”…She reads her bible regularly and unless you know the facts of this case and how she was targeted then you don’t have all the information to have any opinion just yet now do you!?! If you had been thru all that she was put thru then maybe you’d understand the demand for justice-meaning so far, there has only been one side presented to the court.

  5. Their is nothing in what you have said that would give me any hint that the prosecutor would have evidence that she is what you claim. So your statement claiming the Prosecutor has more than enough evidence,

    “So apparently they are being targeted and the prosecution has more than enough evidence to believe that they are Amish/Mennonite; whether known to the community or not.”

    makes no sense.

    • I guess being told that those people are known animal abusers means nothing to you?!?-HUH??? And you think it’s OK from them to have said that to a total stranger on the phone?!? I think just the fact they thought it is wrong!!! But, I’m not Amish/Mennonite…Mennonite…what have you-I’m a free thinking American that a thin dog or cat doesn’t make a person an animal abuser…nor does a flea-How do they put it?-Flea ‘Infestation’…Conditions ‘deplorable’ or whatever negative word they can come up with to create a mindset that a person is an abuser. Neither of the Duhons are animal abusers and I’m glad they have a REAL attorney this go round.

  6. I have never made a judgment on the merits of the case. That is for the courts to determine and from what is on the site here, that has been determined. That is no longer in depute from what you stated.

    What it seem from your statements is that she did not do what ever her 5 year punishment dictated. That is not normally a good thing to do.

    Now she seems to think, from what you said, that she has decided it would be to her benefit to claim she is Amish/Mennonite. If that were so she would have had the love and assistance of her brothers and sisters in the faith and she would never have created a situation in the first place.

    It is not that we don’t have challenges but our approach to the challenges would have been very different. The intense anger is very unbecoming and the demand for justice-. Just does not ring true as an Amish/Mennonite.

    My point is that it offends me that she would use my family in faith as her excuse for bad behavior.

    It is not my purpose to anger you so, almost like you are she. Very interesting as the plot thickens.

    • You know, when a person is a Mennonite, it’s kind of obvious-wouldn’t you agree?!? And has always been obvious, including way back when-Things are transpiring and I believe her prayers are being answered-I will be surprised if any other conclusion comes to pass. I do not believe that you are judging her but others sure are and seems to me that one of the main reasons, is her religion.
      I am not trying to argue with you or point any anger towards you at all-I truly did not mean to but at times it can be difficult when you are close to someone and to a case. I am not an attorney although I do know and understand the law and how it works in these animal cruelty cases.
      I am a close friend who saw PETA and other Animal Rights Extremist/Terrorists making an attempt to terrorize them. To some degree it has made a profound effect on the prosecutor as it did before, with their constant phone calls badgering him to prosecute to the full extent of the law. The prosecutor is an elected official; althou, most of those calls came from outside of that voting district and even outside of the state.
      You should not be offended and instead proud that she is taking the alternative and proving there was no animal cruelty.

      There was a very distinctive poor view from the prosecutors office towards them for their religion.
      I was offended by that remark.

  7. You dance around the subject that I have addressed

    “Just does not ring true as an Amish/Mennonite.
    My point is that it offends me that she would use my family in faith as her excuse for bad behavior.”

    Amish/Mennonite live in a group unless they have rejected the faith or have been shunned.

    Let me be very clear in case there is a miss-understanding of my concern. Living simple is not believing as Amish/Mennonite. She is NOT living in the faith.

    She has NO right to use our belief as an excuses for anything she has done. Be prepared to prove it in court when she makes such a claim. If that were so she would have the love and assistance of her brothers and sisters in the faith. Not the word of a non believer.

    • Let me get this straight with YOU…Anyone and EVERYONE has PROTECTED Constitutional Rights!!! If Anne Marie believes as I do that she is being targeted due to her religious beliefs then she HAS EVERY right to say so. You dear are entitled to your opinion and she to hers as I to mine whether you like it or not it will go to trial and before the jury to decide.
      I KNOW what I was told over the phone and advised Anne Marie to go get or borrow some normal street cloths to take the stigma out of the equation…
      I also saw Animal Rights Extremist/Terrorists that have intent to cause her great harm sitting in a jury box as if they were the jury on this matter.
      The charge is for a probation violation and NOT for animal cruelty -That dear, has past-Maybe you should come to the court next time to see for yourself what is going on.
      I’m hoping that Anne Marie will go to the library and see your posts and answer you herself because I am not reply for her-It’s my replies that you are responding to and not her words-I’m certainly not going to bother her with your inappropriate remarks about what you think of how she is practicing her religion-as if it were your business to judge-Maybe you’ll invite them and welcome them into your community when this is all over-That’s what I’d prefer to read that your judgmental remarks about someone that you don’t know or spoken to personally on this matter.

    • Please do not send anymore comments debating someone’s religion and their beliefs…You sound nuts and I won’t publish anymore of your comments. Ann Marie has replied for herself and that’s the bottom line-Frankly I can’t help but question you and yours but not going there; this thread is done!!! -B

  8. To MS EBScott,

    I am Amish/Mennonite just as you say you are. And yes I am an active member of a Mennonite community and yes they know me. Very well and while they do not attend court with me (according to our beliefs as you well know) they do support me. Even Jesus stood up for what is right when it was necessary (See Mathew 21:12) I read my bible daily and I can easily prove my faith in court if need be. I do find it amusing that you also claim to be of the faith yet you are calling me a liar without even knowing me or meeting me or even SEEING me! Humm.. sounds like the pot calling the kettle black here. I firmly believe that defending ourselves against the Wrong false claims against us is what God wants us to do. Jesus bucked the system when HE was here on earth. While our faith calls for us to be meek and humble it does not call for us to be doormats. Amish and Mennonites have thru out our history stood up against the rest of the world for our beliefs be it being able to live simplistically, home-school our children and not have them attend high school (and that did include a court battle) and the many other things that different communities have done to stay separate and apart from the world. Otherwise we would have been assimilated into the English world and would no longer exist. I have no need to “prove” my faith to a fellow human. That is a subject between my Lord and myself. Any how religion of itself is a man made construct. Our Lord wants a RELATIONSHIP with us not a religion. So Ms Scott please remember a tenant of our faith and “Judge not lest ye be judged.” May the Lord bless and keep you.
    Anne Marie Duhon

  9. Also, Ms. Scott, if you have ever read the Martyr”s Mirror our faith is FULL of people who stood up for their beliefs in the face of persecution up to death. One of our beliefs that identifies Amish and somewhat Mennonites is our agricultural background and our belief that it is “right and proper” for lack of a better term (I personally believe if is a “commandment”) for us to be as self sufficient and self supporting as possible as a means to separate ourselves from the world. That is what we are fighting for our right to support our family in a way that throughout our history has been our mainstay. FARMING and raising animals for our personal use and consumption and to sell the excess to pay other bills. While it seems as tho you do not know the whole of my case in a nutshell the parole violation was because yes I did have animais so that we could pay the house note and have fresh meat and eggs to feed our children. My Mennonite community did help us as much as possible (there were more important things going on at the same time that was also taking up funds) So since you seem to think you have the right to judge judge this Ms Scott. Should we have allowed our children to go homeless and hungry to answer a court order? God gave us abilities to care for our family and we used them. It would have been more “wrong” to allow our kids to live on the street than it was to care for them to the best of our abilities and those abilities included farming/raising animals which has been this family’s main stay income for the last 20+ years. That is what we are fighting for. Would you just roll over and allow man to tell you that you could not be what you are and tell you you are guilty of something that you did not EVER do to be meek and humble? I would really love to know that!
    In Jesus’ Holy Name
    Anne Marie Duhon

  10. but…??? Don’t tell me that you believe the media reports?!? They are not being held accountable for their smear campaigns…there is no shame anymore in false reporting…Actually, the parole violation just might be a good thing to have happened…the media falsely made it another cruelty case which it is not-they have a really good attorney now and just might turn the tide…Be very leery of the news reports anymore with their false claims and conclusions. If there is a trial there will also be a jury.

  11. Family that doesn’t support victims of wrongful, illegal, and unconstitutional animal seizures should support their loved one or shut the Hell up-I’ve seen this tear families apart and if a sibling doesn’t actually care for the one charged or jealous in anyway, shape or form, will use it against their own flesh and blood-time and time again without thinking and what they are fueling-Should be ashamed of themselves for the harm they impose on another-There’s something to be said about if you can’t say something nice, then say nothing at all and hold true in many instance. The harm it does might be regretful in the not too distant future…

Leave a Reply

 
